top of page
Search

Week 28 - Careful who's watching...

I promise I won't forget the pictures this week, even if I only have two. We don't take a lot of pictures here.


Here is a big leafy mantis. When we found it it was being hassled by a kitten and was actually fighting back. It had reared up and was making jabbing movements with its spike peets. When we approached from behind it realised that it didn't want to fight surrounded and scuttled under a motorbike for a more defensible position. I don't think I've ever seen an insect trying to hold its ground against a non-insect before. A real David and Goliath story, although I doubt it defeated the kitten in the end.



I also put all of Elder S's watches on my arm. We joked about how long I would last in L____ (where we were mugged) with all of these bad boys. Some drunks tried to convince Elder B to give him his watch on our first trip there.*

It's been a rather uneventful week. Unfortunately we've made the decision to drop some people we have been teaching, because even if people are open to receiving and listening to us, if they are never willing to do anything by their own free will then there's not much more we can do.


Coronavirus has reached Mexico, so now there's just Nicaragua between it and us. Wash your hands before eating.


I am preparing for what is likely my last week here in P____. We'll probably find out next week, but if I don't get to email that will most likely mean that I have been transferred.


Have a great week

Elder Godivala


*Madre liked how this was described in our family chat.

"But we invented a game which is to go into L____ with Elder S's collection of watches and see how long you last. Elder B takes off his watch before going there.

After his first week here some drunks tried to get it. Luckily there was another drunk slurring about how we were men of God and they shouldn't take our watches.

They accepted that if we wouldn't give them our watches then at least we would pray for them"

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Homecoming talk

Closure on Cyrus' mission and sunset on this blog as he is finally able to give his homecoming talk back in the Aylesbury Ward. Good morning brothers and sisters. Today I've been asked to give a talk

bottom of page