top of page
Search

Week 25


Elder Godivala: Oh dear I'm getting fatter, this is absolutely terrible. I must stop this obscene engorgening as soon as possible.








Also Elder Godivala:


At least we didn't get one each. This is self-discipline.








This week has been truly excellent, in more ways than I can explain. I have difficulty remembering anything bad. Only that on Friday my water bottle opened in my bag, and several books became somewhat moist. I think the water damage gives them character. The loss of my water was probably the worst thing about it, as winter has ended and it has quickly started getting hotter. I feel like the boy who cried wolf because I know I have complained about the heat in every other email, but really what I have experienced is Costa Rica at its coldest. Do not stop praying for me.

We had a ward missionary activity on Thursday, and everyone divided up and went to meet inactive or less active members, and every group returned with success.


We have helped a lot of people, and a lot of people have helped us. All in all I feel I will be leaving P____ better than I found it, which is the purpose of me being here.


Also on Saturday, I had the great pleasure of being able to attend my friend Ari's baptism in England via video call. Ari is a friend from school, who encountered the missionaries after I had left. It was a beautiful experience for all involved. It was even in the President's Weekly Bulletin, as he too was very interested in it.



Look out for her if she ever comes to Aylesbury Ward, which she may do if returning home to Leighton Buzzard for the holidays.


This week we will be looking forward to meeting the General Authority Elder Soares on Thursday. It seems only natural that of all the General Authorities who could be coming, it is the Brazilian one. Just like my companions and the Mission President. Someone really wants me to learn Portuguese.


As I have said our mission has begun the transformation into a Tech mission. As such we now have a mobile application that has replaced the Area Book, the Mission Calendar and our daily Agenda. I was expecting to come home with 16 filled agendas from the course of my mission, but have been told that the one I have now will be my last. How exciting it is to live in these times.


Last week I tried to make an English Breakfast with what I could find here. It turns out that only eggs are the same in Costa Rica and England, and I was too ashamed to take a photo of the resulting breakfast to show you. I will say that the bacon is 96% fat, the only sausages are hot-dog sausages, the only mushrooms are in cans, beans are black or red, and hash browns and black pudding do not exist. Also bread is sweet. So enjoy the things you have, while you have them, because it's the simple things you miss.


Have a lovely week

Elder Godivala

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Homecoming talk

Closure on Cyrus' mission and sunset on this blog as he is finally able to give his homecoming talk back in the Aylesbury Ward. Good morning brothers and sisters. Today I've been asked to give a talk

bottom of page