top of page
Search

Week 2020


Happy New Year's Eve Eve from Elder Godivala and companion!

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas! Thank you very much for the nice Christmas wishes that I received. I am truly feeling blessed every day. I decided a few days ago that the fact that I have not yet gotten sunburnt is a manifestation of the prayers that are being said for me at home.


Here in Costa Rica the Christmas celebrations are usually held on the 24th, and the 25th is reserved for nursing hangovers. Here is a picture of Elder A hard at work preparing a Christmas Eve dinner to take to share with a family.


Elder A is a Microwave Maestro.


Christmas Day was spent moving between appointments and continuing to gorge ourselves in true Christmas style. We also had the opportunity to video call our families, and I received a marriage offer from Elder A's aunt. What a great Christmas gift. I also received in my package from home a well needed and much appreciated...


Summer Hat.


On Boxing Day morning I was sure I was hallucinating, until I finally realised that a tiny ant was walking backward and forward across my glasses lens. It just goes to show that: Thou hypocrite, first cast the [ant] out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother's eye


Or something like that.


On Saturday the Bishop asked us to come to a service project, although he was strangely reluctant to tell us what it would entail. When we arrived it was revealed that we were laying cement, which involved carrying it by the bucket and mixing it with a shovel. Needless to say it was not a problem that I had skipped morning exercise that day.


Here I am, hard at work. Picture taken by Elder A sitting in the shade.


And that more or less brings us to today, my last email of the decade. The last year has been somewhat revolutionary in my life. While I don't know what next year will bring (I don't have 2020 vision :D) I am sure I will have plenty of news to share with you. 


Until next year

Elder Godivala



Excuse the poor quality. The shenanigans in the dark at the end involved a bag of marshmallows being thrown at a sleeping elder...

37 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Homecoming talk

Closure on Cyrus' mission and sunset on this blog as he is finally able to give his homecoming talk back in the Aylesbury Ward. Good morning brothers and sisters. Today I've been asked to give a talk

bottom of page