top of page
Search

The Best Week of the Year

Updated: Jan 7, 2020


This is a banana leaf. Although the picture does not suggest it, it is both taller and wider than I am. (Although at my current rate of growth it may not be wider than me for long).


I took this picture on New Year's Eve, which we spent with a less active member called Marcia. She had planned for Elder A and me to come over for some grilled chicken, but the Zone Leaders swooped in with a surprise exchange, and Elder M stole Elder A's place in our New Years plans. Elder A still believes I lack experience directing the area, so I am going to continue hosting exchanges until he leaves. 



Also got to spend New Years Eve with some cat babies. We are not supposed to touch animals if we can help it but I could not resist. I miss my cats at home, but thankfully every week Martha sends me some pictures of them.


Also on New Years Eve we went to visit a little old Grandma that we visit sometimes, as her foot hurts so much she often can't come to church. We found that she had opened an unlicensed firework shop in her house. She said that she does it every year, and all the local children come around to buy explosives. We promised not to tell the police.


For the last few weeks we have been really focusing on member involvement in missionary work, and it is finally paying off. Missionary work is so much better when the members are finding people.


Also this week my other Christmas package arrived from the Ward, and it was a very lovely second Christmas. Here are photos of some but not all of the contents.


As you see I am wearing some of the contents. I would just like to thank everyone who contributed for all the love and kindness that you show. Every card had me grinning or laughing. It's nice to know that even if I can't attend the multitude of weddings that are happening back home, I am still remembered. Although seriously, to the Day family. Were you just waiting until I left to get married? Are you really that scared of my dancing? Well it's your loss. I'm expecting news of Reuben's marriage next month. Today lots of Elders all went to the Escazu mission house for a barbecue. It was a very fun occasion and I learnt how to play spikeball. Also there was enough meat to fill about 20 missionaries, which is probably half a farmsworth of flesh.  So we're already on a good start into this new year. I hope you are too. If not, there's no better time to change things than now. Elder Godivala



53 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Homecoming talk

Closure on Cyrus' mission and sunset on this blog as he is finally able to give his homecoming talk back in the Aylesbury Ward. Good morning brothers and sisters. Today I've been asked to give a talk

bottom of page